* CogRob2002: Third International Cognitive Robotics Workshop

The Third International Cognitive Robotics Workshop

July 28, 2002
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Held in conjunction with AAAI-2002
The Eighteenth National Conference on Artificial Intelligence
July 28-August 1, 2002
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Quick Access to Contents of this Web Page:

Workshop Description and Call for Papers:

Research in robotics has traditionally emphasized low-level sensing and control tasks including sensory processing, path planning, and manipulator design and control. In contrast, research in cognitive robotics is concerned with endowing robots and software agents with higher level cognitive functions that enable them to reason, act and perceive in changing, incompletely known, and unpredictable environments. Such robots must, for example, be able to reason about goals, actions, when to perceive and what to look for, the cognitive states of other agents, time, collaborative task execution, etc. In short, cognitive robotics is concerned with integrating reasoning, perception and action within a uniform theoretical and implementation framework.

This workshop aims to bring together researchers involved in all aspects of the theory and implementation of cognitive robots, to discuss current work and future directions. While all aspects of cognitive robotics are of interest to the workshop, we especially welcome discussions and demonstrations of implemented systems. CogRob2002 follows the very successful AAAI Fall Symposium 1998 on Cognitive Robotics held in Orlando and the Second International Cognitive Robotics Workshop, held in conjunction with ECAI-2000.

Potential participants are invited to submit either a technical paper (extended abstract), an overview paper on their ongoing research, a position paper, a statement of interest, or a description of an implemented system that the authors are willing to demonstrate at the workshop. Papers should be no longer than 7 pages with a font size of at least 10 points. Others wishing to attend should submit a 1-2 page description of their work or interest in this area (including a short list of related publications). This may include specific questions and issues that they feel should be addressed. Proposals of panels on specific issues are also welcome.

Authors who would like to participate in systems demonstrations (either live, simulated, or video-taped) should indicate their audio-visual and/or computer needs at the time of submission.

Papers submitted to this workshop are not considered to be archival publications. Working notes will be distributed at the workshop, but no archival publication will be produced. Hence, authors may submit papers that are under review elsewhere, or that will be published elsewhere, including KR2002 and AAAI-2002

All submissions must arrive by March 15, 2002. Electronic submissions are preferred and should be sent to cogrob02@ksl.stanford.edu. Papers must be in postscript.

General Contact Information:

For mailing information and other administrative details including submission of papers, reviews and final copies, please contact cogrob02@ksl.stanford.edu.

For technical information about the workshop please contact Chitta Baral or Sheila McIlraith.

For general information about the Workshop venue, hotels, and travel information please see the AAAI-2002 Web Site.

Important Dates:

March 15, 2002 Submissions Due
April 19, 2002 Notification Mailed Out
May 15, 2002 Camera-ready Papers Due
July 28, 2002 CogRob2002, Edmonton, Canada
July 30 - August 1, 2002 AAAI-2002 Conference, Edmonton, Canada

Program Committee:

  • Eyal Amir, U.C. Berkeley, USA
  • Chitta Baral (Co-chair), Arizona State University, USA
  • Patrick Doherty, Linkoping University, Sweden
  • Michael Gelfond, Texas Tech University, USA
  • Malik Ghallab, LAAS-CNRS, Toulouse, France
  • Kurt Konolige, SRI, USA
  • Gerhard Lakemeyer, Aachen University of Technology, Germany
  • Sheila McIlraith (Co-chair), Stanford University, USA
  • John-Jules Meyer, Utrecht University, Netherlands
  • Daniele Nardi, Universita' di Roma "La Sapienza", Italy
  • Bernard Nebel, Albert-Ludwigs-Universitaet, Germany
  • Illah Nourbakhsh, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Maurice Pagnucco, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Murray Shanahan, Imperial College, UK
  • Sebastian Thrun, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Son Tran New Mexico State University, USA
  • Paulo Traverso, Institute for Scientific and Technological Research, Italy